Weekend update on the Vintage Decor biz

I have been busily redoing a bunch of furniture that desperately needed it. It fills me with joy that outdated, but quality furniture can get a second life instead of going in the dump. I truly enjoy the projects I have been tackling. I have found that I favor painting and working with wood furniture the most. I recovered thrift store pillows, but I know that sewing is not my strongest talent. SO, not sure if I will sell the pillows, but use them as props at the Vintage Carnival.

People may think that owning their own business would be great because they can be their own boss and set their own hours. In all actuality, there is truth to that. The hours I have put in this week may scare away the faint of heart. I worked 44 hours at my nursing job, had two nights of football games and the rest of the week, I worked on the projects into the night. This weekend, I finished up about 8:30pm each night. No wonder I have not updated this site. I have to give kudos to the folks out there that blog EVERYDAY! Good job!

I was able to talk Nate into taking a drive to a little town about 40 minutes away on Friday night. I had heard about this consignment store that was in a huge old furniture store from friends. We got to the store at 7:00pm and were there for maybe 3 minutes and the power went out. I had seen just enough to get my heart pumping. I was sooo bummed. The power was OUT and didn’t look like it was coming back on anytime soon. Some friends were there and gave me a flashlight and an adult beverage. I’ll have to say, that was a first. Shopping late, in the dark, with a flashlight..and the beer. It was a blast!!! Nate visited while I explored. It turned out to be a great, adventurous evening. We filled up our rig with cheap, real wood furniture. The best find though was something I saw on the deepest level of this building. I saw these two rusty white fence type things. I carried them up to the front of the store and the owner kinda frowned and said those weren’t for sale. Well she must have felt sorry for me, shopping in the dark, with a flashlight…and the beer. (Remember this is a smaaalll town) She said for the right price she could part with it. And by the way, it was an arbor, the top was down in the dungeon still! Her right price was my right price. It will be perfect for the entrance into the booth.

Rusty perfect arbor

I have quite the mess in the house. When I work on these kind of projects, I like to spread out. At the end of tonight, I took a look around and decided I could not start the workweek with the house and garage in shambles. Especially since we are having company over on Tuesday for my hubby’s BIG 40 birthday. This is the downfall of having to work on these types of projects at home instead of a separate business or shop.

working all over the house

kitchen counter

craft room

working in the laundry room, but there isn’t any clothes getting clean!

family room stores the completed stuff

waiting to be finished, poor vehicles have to sit outside

I have been impatient as well. There is not much property for lease in town. There is a building for sale in the area I would love to have a store. It’s a steal. It was built in 1904 and probably still has the same electrical and plumbing too, along with the asbestos and lead paint. So frustrating! My hubby is not real gung-ho about me doing this full time as my only income. Like I said before, I have a very good job and we are comfortable. Nate has said he doesn’t want to go backwards and I understand that. He said tonight that he would like to see me do this as a hobby. Remember when I said how many hours I worked this week between my real job and the “hobby?” I don’t think I could keep that up very long. My house would definitely take a toll. So when is the right time to go for it?

Please give me feedback and advice! Spread the word about this site and maybe if I get enough people to follow and support me here, my hubby will eventually too. I shouldn’t be so hard on him. He does take me to little towns forty miles away to shop, in the dark, with a flashlight….and a beer.

Have a great week!! Nicole

2 thoughts on “Weekend update on the Vintage Decor biz

  1. i totally understand about not having a separate space to work in. If i’m crafting or repurposing furniture the house and garage get bombarded! Wouldn’t it be great to have a space entirely dedicated to working? its my dream….a craft studio at the end of the yard. *sigh*
    anyway, nice arbor and shopping in the dark sounds fun!

Leave a Reply

